– Coronavirus outbreak: South Africa to close borders to all citizens from high-risk countries!

South Africa’s President Cyril Ramaphosa has declared the Coronavirus outbreak a national disaster and announced a raft of unprecedented interventions to curb the spread of COVID-19 in South Africa. These include the closing of 35 ports of entry and imposing a travel ban on foreign nationals from countries hardest hit by the Coronavirus pandemic. The travel ban will be imposed from 18 March 2020 on foreign citizens who come from Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, United States, Germany, United Kingdom and China. Additionally, any foreign national who has visited any of the high risk countries in the past 20 days will be denied a visa. South African citizens returning from these countries will be subjected to testing and self-isolation or quarantine on return. Travellers from medium risk countries such as Portugal, Hong Kong and Singapore will be required to undergo high intensity screening. All travellers who have entered South Africa from high risk countries since mid-February will be required to hand themselves over for testing. We’ll keep you updated!

Your comments are welcome and will receive a response in due course.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.