– Coronavirus pandemic: Botswana’s capital Gaborone placed under lockdown for 14 days!

The Government of Botswana has placed the Greater Gaborone Zone under lockdown since 30 July 2020 for a minimum of two weeks to enable containment efforts to take hold.
Only “essential services” are allowed to operate, but only at 25% capacity. Movement within the Greater Gaborone Zone is permitted, except for those holding a “movement permit”. Those holding interzonal movement permits to the Greater Gaborone Zone are allowed to return, while those who are in the Greater Gaborone Zone will not be allowed to leave without an “essential services” permit. The public is urged to to observe all Covid-19 protocols.
The decision to place Botswana’s capital Gaborone under lockdown was taken due to 30 new positive cases of Covid-19 in the last 24 hours in the Greater Gaborone Zone.
As of 30 July 2020, Botswana has registered 170 confirmed COVID-19 local cases and two deaths.

The Government of Botswana has demarcated the country into nine Covid-19 zones in May 2020 as a measure to better contain the spread of the coronavirus. The COVID-19 zones are:

  1. Greater Gaborone zone – towns, villages and settlements from Dibete to Ramatlabama, including the city of Gaborone and its periphery, Lobatse as well as Kanye, Molepolole and surrounding areas.
  2. Greater Francistown zone – area from Ramokgwebana to Gojwane gate, stretching also to Dukwi and Mokubilo.
  3. Greater Palapye zone – area from Dibete to Martin’s Drift and Sefhophe gate, including the major villages of Serowe, Mahalapye and Palapye.
  4. Boteti zone – from Makoba to Makalamabedi
  5. Maun zone – the whole of Ngamiland
  6. Chobe zone – Chobe district up to Dukwi and Zoroga gate.
  7. Kgalagadi zone – area from Jwaneng to the Kgalagadi North and South constituencies
  8. Ghanzi zone
  9. Greater Phikwe zone