– South Africa reopens four additional domestic airports!

South Africa’s Minister of Transport, Fikile Mbalula, announced at a media briefing on 25 August 2020 on the new Covid-19 regulations related to the transport sector under alert level two, that in addition to the 14 airports already permitted to operate in South Africa four more airports have been given the green light to resume operations. The Minister named Mthatha Airport (UTT) in Mthatha in the Eastern Cape, Hoedspruit Airport (HDS) in Hoedspruit in Limpopo, Phalaborwa Airport/Hendrik Van Eck Airport (PHW) in Phalaborwa in Limpopo and Margate Airport (MGH) in Margate in KwaZulu-Natal as the new additions. Under alert level two, international air travel in South Africa remains prohibited.

The following 14 airports are currently operating in South Africa: