(Posted 12th September 2022)

The 5th Africa Tourism Leadership Forum (ATLF) and Awards scheduled to take place from 24th to 26th of September, will host roundtable discussion amongst Chairpersons, CEOs and Executives of private sector tourismassociations and bodies across the continent.

This leadership session is aimed at prioritising

the role that national tourism private associations and bodies in unblocking intra-Africa travel
bottlenecks, especially, given the decrease in non-African inbound travel as result of COVID 19.

To appreciate and strengthen to role being played by the African Tourism Private Sector,
ATLF 2022 will host a Private Sector Roundtable Session as a meeting of African countries’
Private Sector tourism associations to craft an action-oriented and functional Pan-African
Private partnership initiative.

The purpose is to intensify advocacy and promotion of intra-Africa travel inclusive both inbound and outbound travel to a Pan-African apex body or association. In line with this, all Chairpersons, CEOs and executives as well as technical persons of Tourism Boards/Authorities and Associations are invited to register, participate and contribute toward this landmark project as a collective and Pan-Africa approach to boosting intra-Africa travel. Key notes messages at the session will be delivered by AfCTA
Secretariat, UNECA, SADC Secretariat executives and others.

It is worth noting that participants of 2022 ATLF are set to benefit from one-on-one Business
to Business engagements, conversations and networking sessions as well as desktop

Adding to the above, the Tourism sector is encouraged to take advantage of the two days
left to enter the Africa Tourism Leadership awards (www.tourismleadershipforum.africa).
Deadline for nominations is 14th of September 2022.

ATLF 2022 program will be delivered by renowned speakers from across the globe.

These include H.E. Elias Mpedi Magosi – Executive Secretary, SADC Secretariat;

Hon. Dr. Ibrahim Awal, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Ghana;

Hon. Heather Sibungo – Deputy Minister of Environment, Forestry and Tourism, Namibia;

Emily Mburu-Ndoria – Director, Trade in Services, Investment, IPR and Digital Trade, AfCFTA, Ghana;

Senthil Gopinath – CEO, ICCA, Netherlands;

Dr. Rob Davidson – Managing Director, MICE Knowledge UK;

John Friel Country Manager, Travelstart, South Africa;

Didier Scaillet, Chief Executive Officer, Meeting Profile, Belgium;

Michaella Rugwizangoga – Chief Tourism Officer, Rwanda Development Board (RDB);

Adefunke Adeyemi – Secretary General of the Commission,African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC);

Moseketsi Mpeta – Head, Tourism and Services, IDC;

Ms. Elcia Grandcourt, Director, Africa Department UNWTO and many more.

ATLF is a gathering of industry thought leaders that aims to advance intra-Africa travel,
entrepreneurship, women and youth empowerment and recognise industry changemakers
through the Africa Tourism Leadership Awards. As a Pan-African forum, ATLF and awards
are used by African tourism industry leaders as a platform for doing business, advocacy,
learning, sharing of experiences and knowledge, and ultimately devising firm implementable
actions to stimulate intra-Africa travel growth and development.

About Africa Tourism Partners
African Tourism Partners (ATP) – www.africatourismpartners.com is a UNWTO- affiliated award-
winning Pan-African tourism development and strategic destination marketing advisory firm. The
firm specializes in tourism and MICE strategy formulation, investment facilitation and promotion,
research, master planning and destination market development and capacity building across Africa’s
travel, tourism, hospitality, aviation and golf sub-industries.
Our clients and partners include but are not limited to UNWTO, World Bank, Mastercard Foundation,
NEPAD, AfCFTA, South African Tourism, Ghana Tourism Authority, Tourism KwaZulu- Natal, Rwanda
Development Board, Rwanda Convention Bureau, Rwanda Chamber of Commerce, SAACI, RwandAir,
SAA, Ethiopia Airlines, Tanzania Tourism Board, Kenya Tourism Board, Uganda Tourism Board,
Gauteng Tourism Authority, Zimbabwe Tourism Authority, Tourism Business Council of South Africa,
Nigeria and more.