Seychelles President meets Alain St. Ange as tourism board re-integrates into ministry


(Posted 28th June 2021)

Seychelles President Wavel Ramkalawan welcomed Mr Alain St Ange for a courtesy call at State House last week.
The former Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine; Mr St Ange, returned to Seychelles following his recent posting as a Tourism consultant in Jakarta, Indonesia.
The meeting at the invitation of the Head of State centred on the work Alain St. Ange has been engaged in over the past several weeks and was an opportunity to discuss how Seychelles as a similar tropical island nation can garner new ideas and expertise from Indonesia.
President Ramkalawan also congratulated Mr St Ange on his achievement of being featured in a Coffee Table publication – Global Icons of Travel & Tourism launched by the Pacific Area Travel Writers Association.
Speaking to the press after the meeting, Mr St Ange thanked the President for receiving him at State House and expressed how honoured he is to impart his knowledge and experience for the benefit of Tourism industry of his homeland.
Upon his return to Seychelles, Mr St Ange has also held discussions with the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Tourism, Mr Sylvestre Radegonde.

Meanwhile has the national assembly also repealed the Seychelles Tourism Board Act of 2005 and presidential assent was given, making it official that the Seychelles Tourism Board was being re-integrated into the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Tourism.
Ms. Anne Lafortune, long serving Principal Secretary at the Ministry for all matters tourism has retired and the former CEO of the Seychelles Tourism Board, Mrs. Sherin Francis, will succeed her in office.
Other key staff appointments under the new set up will be as follows:
Ms. Bernadette Willemin will assume the role of Director of Destination Marketing while Ms. Jennifer Sinon will become Director General HR and Administration. Ms. Sinon previously served as Deputy CEO at the Seychelles Tourism Board.
ATCNews extends best wishes to Sherin, Bernadette and Jennifer as they assume their new positions.
Many thanks also to Ms. Anne Lafortune for the excellent cooperation over the past many years.

%d bloggers like this: